The security code has changed in WhatsApp. What does it mean?

All chats and calls on WhatsApp are encrypted. Each chat has its own security code, which users can see in the “Contact Details” section, and for each chat these codes will be unique. Sometimes WhatsApp users get the message “Security code has changed.” What does it mean?

Yes, it also means that the chat security code has changed. Why is this happening? There are usually two reasons: either the user you are talking to has reinstalled the WhatsApp messenger, or he changed the phone. If you change the phone, your interlocutor will receive the same message. In general, there is nothing to worry about. But if you are worried, then you can compare your security code with the security code of the interlocutor – they should be the same (see the section “Contact Information”).

In some cases, users do not receive any messages about a code change if this setting is disabled in the messenger. Now we will show how to enable or disable it.

Open WhatsApp.

Click on the three dots in the upper right corner.

In the menu, select “Settings”.

Next – the “Account” section.

Here is “Security”.

Enable or disable the function:

As you can see, chat encryption does not depend on the specified setting.