How to delete a Google account on an Android phone?

Many users often ask how to delete a Google account on a smartphone or tablet? The question is twofold: the fact is that you can delete an account directly from the device, or you can delete it altogether. We will analyze both cases in detail..

Delete account from device

To begin, we will analyze the case when you need to delete an account from your smartphone or tablet. Remember, in this case the account itself is not deleted, you, roughly speaking, go through deauthorization, for example, to log in using another account.

Find the “Settings” icon and click on it.

Find the “Accounts” section in the menu and click on the Google icon, as shown in the screenshot.

You will now see your account. Click on it.

Now you need to click on the menu button. It can be in the current window or displayed when you click on the button below the screen, as in our case. In the menu, click “Delete Account”.

Video instruction

Finally, confirm the deletion of the account from the device.

That’s all. Please note that deleting an account will result in the loss of all data associated with it, including contacts.

The scheme is almost the same on all devices with a few exceptions.

Delete an account completely and permanently

In this case, we will consider the situation when you delete the account completely, including all data. It cannot be restored, which means that you carry out all the actions strictly at your own peril and risk!

Log in to gmail.com – enter your username and password (the same ones that are used on your device for a Google account).

Next, click on the logo on the right side of the screen and when the menu appears, click on the “My Account” button.

In the “My Account” section, select the “Disable Services and Delete Account”.

Now select “Delete account and data”.

On the account deletion page, you will see information regarding your data. Including here it will be written that you will no longer be able to use Google services under this account. At the bottom of the window, you need to confirm the deletion of the account, enter the password if necessary. We remind you once again – deleting an account is only necessary if you really do not need it and you do not plan to use it in the future at all. We highly recommend not deleting it.

If you need to delete an account only from a device from a device based on Android OS, use the first option.