What is Wipe data / factory reset and Wipe cache partition?

On Android smartphones and tablets, there is a special Recovery Mode menu or just a menu recovery. This is a special device boot mode, thanks to which you can reset all settings or, say, install new firmware on the device and even other menu recovery.

Here’s what Recovery Mode looks like on a Samsung smartphone:

To call this menu, you need to do a number of actions along with rebooting the smartphone. For example, on the Samsung Galaxy S3, the process is as follows:

  • Turn off your smartphone.
  • Press the sound increase button, the Home button and the smartphone’s power key at the same time.
  • Release the buttons as soon as you see the menu recovery logo.

Please note that the image of the stock Recovery Mode is shown above. There are also custom versions of the menu, they are installed by the user independently and can have a completely different look. As an example – TWRP Recovery:

There are several items in the menu recovery that raise questions from users. Let’s talk about some of them..

Wipe data / factory reset

When using Wipe data / factory reset, all applications and data are deleted (cache, accounts, applications, music, files, videos, etc.). It is usually used if there are any errors when using the device, or the smartphone or tablet starts to slow down, or the user wants to return the device to its original state and reset the settings. Use this item carefully. If you decide to reset the data, do not forget to backup the necessary files first.

Wipe cache partition

Wipe cache partition – this clears the cache partition. In this area, temporary files that remain after applications or updates are stored are stored. It is used, for example, if the smartphone is slow, or it starts to slow down. In this case, uninstalling applications, unlike the previous case, does not occur – only the cache, that is, formally using the Wipe cache partition item, you do not risk losing data.

It is also worth noting that the application cache can also be deleted through the basic settings of the smartphone, for example:

Other types of menu recovery

Some recovery menus have additional items. For example, in Recovery Mode on Xiaomi devices, you can select additional cleaning modes, such as, say, Wipe SD Card – deleting data from a memory card. And the look of the menu is completely different:

However, the menu view does not affect the menu recovery functionality in any way..

Exit the menu recovery using the Reboot system now item (rebooting the device in normal mode).

Or through the Power Off item, if available (device shutdown).